Home Page Link AgBioWorld Home Page
About AgBioWorld Donations Ag-Biotech News Declaration Supporting Agricultural Biotechnology Ag-biotech Info Experts on Agricultural Biotechnology Contact Links Subscribe to AgBioView Home Page

AgBioView Archives

A daily collection of news and commentaries on

Subscribe AgBioView Read Archives

Subscribe AgBioView Subscribe

Search AgBioWorld Search Site

About AgBioWorld

Prakash's Biography

Prakash Presentation

Greg Conko Biography

Biotech Declaration

Make a Donation

Contact Us


About AgBioWorld

The AgBioWorld Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization headquartered in Auburn, Alabama, and is run by Professor C.S. Prakash of Tuskegee University. The AgBioWorld community was established in January 2000 by Professor Prakash and Gregory Conko of the Competitive Enterprise Institute, and the foundation and AgBioView e-mail service rely upon the volunteer efforts of many friends and colleagues.

AgBioWorld aims to provide science-based information on agricultural biotechnology issues to various stakeholders across the world. Its website and e-mail service are a daily source of information for thousands of subscribers from dozens of countries. The AgBioWorld 'Declaration in Support of Agricultural Biotechnology' has been endorsed by over 3,400 scientists, including 25 Nobel Laureates such as Dr. Norman Borlaug, Dr. James Watson, Dr. Arthur Kornberg, Dr. Marshall Nirenberg, Dr. Peter Doherty, Dr. Paul Berg, Mr. Oscar Arias Sanchez and Dr. John Boyer.

AgBioWorld's free electronic newsletter, AgBioView, is a "must read" source of news, research updates and commentary for anyone interested in the latest on advances in plant science, agricultural research and sustainable food production. For in-depth, "beyond the headlines" coverage of the most important ag biotech news, click here to subscribe.

The success of AgBioWorld has been widely recognized by the media as over hundreds of newspapers and magazines, including the New York Times, Washington Post, International Herald Tribune, Financial Times, Chicago Tribune, Chronicle of Higher Education, The Scientist, Science, Nature, and Nature Biotechnology and South China Morning Post have reported on this initiative. Governor Tom Vilsack of Iowa praised AgBioWorld during a governors' conference, while Nobel Peace Prize winner Dr. Norman Borlaug has frequently commended Dr. Prakash's efforts in his writings and lectures. Senator Christopher Bond also has acknowledged Dr. Prakash's initiatives in biotechnology during a Senate floor discussion and placed Prakash's op-ed column from the Atlanta Journal Constitution 'Foes of Biotechnology Ignore Global Hunger' in the Congressional record.

The AgBioWorld Foundation is an independent 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. We are principally a volunteer-driven organization that receives the vast majority of our small operating budget from individual contributions. Our volunteers and financial supporters are principally comprised of academics, independent scientists, and non-profit researchers. To date, we have received no corporate funding for our initiatives and we have committed to keeping the majority of our funding sources to individual contributors.

As an organization that has emerged from academic roots and values, we have chosen to go well beyond IRS charitable fundraising limitations by restricting our sources of income so as to not create any perceptions of bias or conflicts of interest. For that reason, the AgBioWorld Foundation does not accept contributions from corporations that have direct commercial interests involving agricultural biotechnology. Additionally, we do not accept program- or research-specific contributions from agricultural or biotechnology related trade associations or their philanthropic arms; contributions from such sources are limited to support for general operating and administrative purposes only. At all times, the AgBioWorld Foundation will rigorously adhere to both the requirements and principles behind fundraising and disclosure for charitable organizations.